Summary to “What is Web 2.0?” Article

Photo Credit: CC, Andrew

Photo Credit: CC, Andrew

Before reading this article I’d first heard the buzzword Web 2.0 last semester in one of my COMM classes. We were broken off into groups and given different industries to study the entire semester but Web 2.0 was left unassigned because there were other choices and no one wanted to research it because no one knew what it meant. We never re-visited the issue and no one really asked what it was because we were concerned with the assigned work. After reading this article, I know have a much clearer picture on what the word actually means. The list comparing Web 1.0 and Web 2.0 as well as the “Meme Map” really did a great job laying that out. From what I conclude, a Web 2.0 website or company allows more interaction from users rather than an unknown team behind the scenes writing code. The example that stuck out the most was the comparison of Britannica Online and Wikipedia. I really understood once I connected the two. Web 2.0 websites allow users to edit content and to share with others. They also allow users to interact with each other like with blogs (whether written or video like Youtube).

What lame professors must say about you. Your reply. 

6 thoughts on “Summary to “What is Web 2.0?” Article

  1. I agree with you that most people in Comm clases don’t willingly discuss Web 2.0 which seems a little silly because in every Comm class I’ve taken it has been a central topic. I really like the way you defined web 2.0 as a more interactive web where users can contribute and interact with each other.

  2. I agree, the article really laid out the meaning of Web 2.0 and the contrast to the previous generation of Web 1.0. I like how you said that its no longer “an unknown team behind the scenes writing code”, it really sums up how websites on the internet used to operate.

  3. I too have a taken a LOT of COMM classes and having to research the entirety of the Web 2.0 as an industry would have been a burden seeing that there is no exact definition of it. Web 2.0 essentially the way in which the internet is structured today– with dyanmic websites, and desgin based interactions.

  4. I just started the class today so I haven’t had a chance to read the article yet. But I would think that as we move forward into Web 3.0 and beyond we will see more and more interaction and communication between users, as the Internet continues to grow more social. It seems to me that that’s why the Internet grew to its current popularity so quickly rather than dying out: because it satisfies that basic human need of feeling like you belong somewhere and are a part of something.

Leave a Reply

