RE: “Reality Hunger: A Manifesto”

Image

CC Flickr Mikeasauraus

Manifesto

“Only the suspect artist starts from art; the true artist draws his material elsewhere: from himself” (Shields, 2010). 

In this essay, I found it interesting when Shields brought up the issue he had with novels. He talked about how he had no interest in the hero’s life. He knew he’d be bored before even reading. I agree with his statement that true art comes from one’s own experiences. I believe in art that allows others to relate; the familiarity is what draws the interest of others. Shields calls it “reality-based art”. 

When I look at a piece of art I ask myself these questions:

  • What is it?
  • Can I relate to it?
  • Is it pretty?
  • Would I share it with others? 

 

One thought on “RE: “Reality Hunger: A Manifesto”

  1. I can completely relate to your self reflecting on art. This could explain why we are best friends. I looked at some art earlier today and asked this in a similar order.

Leave a Reply

