Video 3: Silent Baby Boy

This video was the most difficult to make. There were times when I wanted to give up on this project and start another idea, but I persevered. I decided to choose this scene because there was a conflict here and a build up to a confrontation. When I think of most silent films, I think of dramatic scenes that lead up to a fight or battle. This is exactly what this scene from Baby Boy embodies.

Process:

  • I used the Star Wars silent film instructions to try to get an idea of how to start my project. I tried to use the suggested templates but they didn’t work.

Screen Shot 2013-02-14 at 4.53.02 PM

  • I downloaded the movie clip from YouTube. 
  • I added the clip to iMovie and added the black and white effect. Then I muted to volume of the original clip.

Screen Shot 2013-02-14 at 4.48.14 PM

  • I decided to use GIFs for my title cards because I couldn’t get the right effect. The most tedious part was breaking down the GIFs into separate JPEGs.

Screen Shot 2013-02-16 at 4.15.05 PM

  • I added the pictures to iPhoto and then added them to iMovie. I had to time each clip right to create the silent movie animation effect. 

Screen Shot 2013-02-16 at 4.18.16 PM

  • After adding all of the title cards and adjusting the timing of all of the clips, I found audio from a scary silent movie on YouTube and I downloaded the audio and added it to the movie. 

Screen Shot 2013-02-16 at 3.06.21 PM

  • Once the audio was added, it was a perfect fit and I didn’t have to edit or adjust the timing. I exported the video to YouTube. 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

